The 52 European Gymnasts with medal chances at 2017 World Gymnastics Championships

Flying high: Germany's Pauline Schaefer will compete in the Women's Beam final and is one of 20 European female gymnasts still in the medal hunt

The 2017 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships in Canada are well underway and after three days of tightly-contested qualification rounds we now know who will perform in the event finals, which begin later tonight (Midnight, UK time).

Six British Gymnasts have made it through the qualification stages with Max Whitlock, Claudia Fragapane, Nile Wilson, Amy Tinkler, Alice Kinsella and Courtney Tulloch all in contention for medals.

A further 46 European gymnasts have made the latter stages with current European Champions Eleftherios Petrounias of Greece (Rings) and Ukrainian Oleg Verniaiev (All-around, Pommel Horse, Parallel Bar) both comfortably through in their respective disciplines.

Don’t miss your chance to see the best gymnasts from across Great Britain and Europe perform at the 2018 European Gymnastics Championships which will take place at the SSE Hydro between August 2 – 12 as part of Glasgow 2018. Buy tickets HERE

A full list of British and European athletes who have qualified for medal events at the 2017 World Championships is found below (current UEG European Artistic Gymnastics Champions in bold):


Melanie de Jesus Dos Santos – France (All-around)

Elena Eremina – Russia (All-around, Uneven Bars, Beam)

Diana Varinska – Ukraine (All-around, Uneven Bars)

Nina Darwael – Belgium (All-around, Uneven Bars)

Angelina Melnikova – Russia (All-around)

Giulia Steingruber – Switzerland (All-around, Vault)

Tabea Alt – Germany (All-around, Beam)

Amy Tinkler – Great Britain (All-around)

Ana Perez – Spain (All-around)

Elisabeth Seitz – Germany (All-around, Uneven Bars)

Lara Mori – Italy (All-around, Floor)

Rune Hermens – Belgium (All-around)

Filipa Martins – Portugal (All-around)

Marine Boyer – France (All-around)

Alice Kinsellla – Great Britain (All-around)

Maria Paseka – Russia (Vault)

Anastasia Iliankova – Russia (Uneven Bars)

Pauline Schaefer – Germany (Beam)

Claudia Fragapane – Great Britain (Floor)

Vanessa Ferrari – Italy (Floor)



David Belyavskiy – Russia (All-around, Pommel Horse, Parallel Bar, Horizontal Bar)

Oleg Verniaiev – Ukraine (All-around, Pommel Horse, Parallel Bar)

Nile Wilson – Great Britain (All-around)

Pablo Braegger – Switzerland (All-around, Parallel Bar, Horizontal Bar)

Ahmet Onder – Turkey (All-around)

Nikita Nagornyy – Russia (All-around)

Ferhat Arican – Turkey (All-around, Parallel Bar)

Artur Davtyan – Armenia (All-around)

Marioa Georgiou – Cyprus (All-around)

Phillipp Herder – Germany (All-around)

Eddy Yusof – Switzerland (All-around)

Tomas Kuzmickas – Lithuania (All-around)

Robert Tvorogal – Lithuania (All-around)

Joel Plata Rodriguez – Spain (All-around)

Artem Dolgopyat – Israel (Floor)

Bram Verhofstad – Netherlands (Floor)

Max Whitlock – Great Britain (Pommel Horse)

Saso Bertoncelj – Slovenia (Pommel Horse)

Harutyun Merdinyan – Armenia (Pommel Horse)

Eleftherios Petrounias – Greece (Rings)

Denis Abliazin – Russia (Rings)

Ibrahim Colak – Turkey (Rings)

Samir Ait Said – France (Rings)

Courtney Tulloch – Great Britain (Rings)

Igor Radivilov – Ukraine (Rings, Vault)

Marian Dragulescu – Romania (Vault)

Zachari Hrimeche – France (Vault)

Marcel Nguyen – Germany (Vault)

Epke Zonderland – Netherlands (Horizontal Bar)

Tin Srbic – Croatia (Horizontal Bar)

Oliver Hegi – Switzerland (Horizontal Bar)

Bart Deurloo – Netherlands (Horizontal Bar)

Share this story